Can Isochron Scepter Copy Inevitable Betrayal?

No, Isochron Scepter cannot copy Inevitable Betrayal. The primary reason for this is that Isochron Scepter has a specific restriction: it can only imprint instant cards with a converted mana cost of 2 or less. Inevitable Betrayal, on the other hand, is a sorcery card with a converted mana cost of 7, which does not meet the criteria for imprinting by Isochron Scepter​​. This distinction between instant and sorcery cards, as well as the mana cost limitation, prevents Isochron Scepter from being able to copy Inevitable Betrayal.

Understanding Isochron Scepter and Inevitable Betrayal

Isochron Scepter is a renowned artifact that allows players to imprint and repeatedly cast instant spells with a converted mana cost (CMC) of 2 or less. In contrast, Inevitable Betrayal is a sorcery with a higher CMC, designed to disrupt opponents by manipulating their deck.

The Core Issue: Sorceries vs. Instants

The crux lies in Isochron Scepter’s inability to imprint sorcery cards, a limitation grounded in MTG’s foundational rules. This distinction highlights the strategic planning necessary when incorporating such cards into a deck.

Alternative Strategies for Deck Building

While the direct copying of Inevitable Betrayal via Isochron Scepter is off the table, players can explore other avenues, such as clone effects, token generation, and control strategies to outmaneuver their opponents.

Can you copy Isochron scepter?

Yes, it is possible to create a copy of Isochron Scepter under certain circumstances within the game Magic: The Gathering. Scepter itself falls into the realm of creating a token or copy of the artifact itself through other card abilities or effects in the game. There are numerous cards and effects in Magic: The Gathering that allow players to copy artifacts.

For example, cards like “Sculpting Steel” or “Phyrexian Metamorph” can be used to create a copy of any artifact on the battlefield, including Isochron Scepter. When you copy Isochron Scepter, the copy can have an instant card imprinted on it if there’s an instant card with a converted mana cost of 2 or less available when the copy enters the battlefield. This way, both the original and the copy of Isochron Scepter can be used to cast copies of the imprinted instant cards, assuming the conditions for imprinting and activation are met.

Share this Article

Table of Contents